The Art of Losing

Praise Frank
2 min readNov 24, 2023

--

photo by immusoul on Pinterest

Shell-like complexity in that desolate hour begins to set in,

Time, people, memories, places,

The art of losing isn’t hard to master

For they say that greater loss leads to greater gain,

A cycle that somehow reverses disaster.

Fail and fail more and then you will succeed,

Be the watchful follower before you get to lead,

Even muscles have to break before the gains come faster,

The art of losing isn’t hard to master.

I grew up with a hole in the middle of me,

In the loudness of the absence of mother and father

Cradled by nature and protected by God,

Throttled by the forests of fate; a feather on the rod

And yet, I had to lose some more to find a path to take.

I lost three friends and a lovely city,

Countless hours and my comely ditty,

The art of losing isn’t hard to master

But often it births in us the pangs of disaster.

© Praise Frank

notes: This was inspired by Elizabeth Bishop’s ‘One Art’, a piece I read some days ago that I resonated with.

Certain losses tend to live with us longer than others, creating a void that never seems to get filled regardless of what we try to do and then with time, the scars gently heal. Loss is essential and though it breaks us apart, it helps us value what we have and where we are, it is part of the journey and as one who has witnessed enough of it, I’ve come to appreciate it and learn from it.

To everyone that continues to read, to stop by, to comment and highlight, I am grateful. Thank you 🙌🏾🤍.

--

--

Praise Frank

Here to share my poems and short pieces, poetry is therapy and writing is life.